Timeless

Source: http://vimeo.com/34947834

Description:

The digital settles in as background. We remember less and query more. Our identity play would be considered schizophrenic in the last century. We have more friends than ever before yet know new frontiers of isolation. The quantification of our experience haunts us in the form of a persistent history. And we are distracted more than we ever knew possible. These circumstances are paradoxically a description of the near future and a diagnosis of the current state of affairs. The truly timeless is redefined – it has transcended that which is classic; it has become that which is never finished. Timeless a video essay / design fiction by KS12 Directed and Edited by Gabriel Shalom Designed by Patrizia Kommerell Produced by KS12 Producer: Karen Cifarelli Commissioned by MU, Eindhoven http://www.mu.nl Curated by Angelique Spaninks Production Assistant: Rob Versteeg http://ropski.nl Interviews (in order of appearance) Bernhard Herrmann http://www.herrmann-lehrmittel.de Rafaël Rozendaal http://www.newrafael.com Bruce Sterling http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bruce_Sterl ing Peter Kirn http://pkirn.com Jorien Kemerink http://foodlabeindhoven.com Markus Kayser http://www.markuskayser.com Elske van der Putten http://www.heyheyhey.nl Vivian van Gaal http://strp.nl Toby Barnes http://about.me/tobybarnes Mary Flanagan http://www.maryflanagan.com Ghost Box Concept and Design: KS12 Electronics: Philip Steffan http://bausteln.de Manufacture: Günter Herrmann Lehrmittelfabrik http://www.herrmann-lehrmittel.de 3D Prototype Modeling: Mendel Heit http://www.mendelheit.com Fabrication Consultant: Fons Schiedon http://www.fonsschiedon.com STRP Artworks E‪dwin van der Heide‬ DSLE -2- (2011) ‪http://www.evdh.net Marnix de Nijs Exploded Views 2.0 (2011) http://www.marnixdenijs.nl Telcosystems 12_series (2010) http://www.telcosystems.net Digitale Werkplaats Bristlebots (2011) http://www.nerdlab.nl Bart Hess Liquified (2011) http://barthess.nl Fourcelabs Dance Engine (2011) http://www.fourcelabs.com Music Excerpt from “sketch_111229” by stra. © 2011 Shingo Inao http://soundcloud.com/stra-1 “Anaxagoras” and “MeeBlip Landscape” by Peter Kirn © 2011 Peter Kirn http://soundcloud.com/peterkirn “Melted Rubber Soul” by Campfires © 2011 Jeff Walls http://campfires.bandcamp.com Special Thanks Bernhard Herrmann Helmut Seefeld Shot on location in Eindhoven, NL during the STRP Festival 2011 http://strp.nl and in Hofgeismar, Germany at the Günter Herrmann Lehrmittelfabrik http://www.herrmann-lehrmittel.de #timeless www.ks12.net © 2012 KS12