How do I contact CPS in Texas?
Call: 1-800-252-5400….The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) has a central place to report:
- Child abuse and neglect.
- Abuse, neglect, self-neglect, and exploitation of the elderly or adults with disabilities living at home.
- Abuse of children in child-care facilities or treatment centers.
What are reasons to call CPS in Texas?
Texas law requires that any person suspecting that a child has been abused or neglected must immediately make a report. If there is an emergency, call 911 and then call the DFPS Texas Abuse Hotline at 1-800-252-5400. You can also make a report onlineExternal Link.
What resources are there to support the child family?
Family Resource Centers
- Parent skill training.
- Drop-in centers.
- Home visiting.
- Job training.
- Substance use prevention.
- Violence prevention.
- Services for children with special needs.
How do you deal with troubled teens?
7 Keys to Handling Difficult Teenagers
- Avoid Giving Away Your Power.
- Establish Clear Boundaries.
- Utilize Assertive and Effective Communication.
- When Dealing with a Group of Difficult Teens, Focus on the Leader.
- In Mild Situations, Maintain Humor and Show Empathy.
- Give Them a Chance to Help Solve Problems (If Appropriate)
How long does it take for CPS to make a decision?
The CPS will usually conclude their review within 30 working days of the request, but in some complex cases, this could take longer. If the victim is not satisfied with the CPS’ review decision, they can lodge an application at court for a judicial review, to challenge the decision.
Do I have to take a drug test for CPS in Texas?
If you refuse to take a drug test, CPS will file a lawsuit to obtain a warrant. However, the caseworker must be able to prove probable cause to obtain the warrant.
How long does CPS have to investigate in Texas?
DFPS must initiate investigation within 72 hours of receiving a Priority II report.
What can CPS do and not do in Texas?
The Texas Family Code states that CPS can investigate reports that a child has been or is being abused or neglected. Anyone can initiate the report (e.g., teachers, grandparents, neighbors, an ex-spouse, etc.), and because this can be done anonymously, you will likely not know who made the claim.
How do I file a complaint against Texas CPS?
– Child Protective Services – Adult Protective Services – Child Care Licensing – Residential Child Care Licensing – Texas Abuse Hotline
What are my rights with CPS in Texas?
– Act or lack of action that causes actual harm to a child. – Act or lack of action that puts a child in immediate danger of harm. – A parent’s blatant disregard for the consequences relating to that action or lack thereof.
How to report CPS Texas?
Report Child Abuse & Neglect. Do you suspect someone of child abuse or neglect? Call the Texas Child Protective Services Hotline 1-800-252-5400 or report online. Both are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. You can also report child maltreatment 24/7 at the ChildHelp hotline by calling 1-800-4-A-CHILD. Visit their website here.
How to make CPS report Texas?
CPS Data and Statistics