How many U20 World Cup has Nigeria won?

How many U20 World Cup has Nigeria won?

seven Africa
The team as won a record seven Africa U-20 Cup of Nations titles and are also two-times runners-up of the FIFA U-20 World Cup….Nigeria national under-20 football team.

FIFA U-20 World Cup
Best result Champions (1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 2005, 2011, 2015)
WAFU Zone B U-20 Tournament
Appearances 2 (first in 2018)

Did Nigeria qualify for Afcon 2023?

Nigeria’s Super Eagles came from a goal down to get their 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying campaign off to a winning start on Thursday, beating Sierra Leone 2-1 at the Moshood Abiola Stadium in Abuja.

How many nations cups have Nigeria won?

Background. Nigeria won the Africa Cup of Nations in 1980 and 1994, and were losing finalists in 1984, 1988, 1990 and 2000.

When did Nigeria host u20 World Cup?

1999 FIFA World Youth Championship

FIFA U-20 World Cup Nigeria 1999
Host country Nigeria
Dates 3–24 April
Teams 24 (from 6 confederations)
Venue(s) 8 (in 8 host cities)

How many times have Nigeria won FIFA?

Governed by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), they are three-time Africa Cup of Nations winners, with their most recent title in 2013….Nigeria national football team.

FIFA ranking
Africa Cup of Nations
Appearances 19 (first in 1963)
Best result Champions (1980, 1994, 2013)
African Nations Championship

Who will host Africa Cup of Nation 2023?

Ivory Coast
2023 Africa Cup of Nations

Coupe d’Afrique des Nations 2023
Host country Ivory Coast
Dates 23 June – 23 July
Teams 24 (from 1 confederation)
Venue(s) 6 (in 5 host cities)

Which Group is Nigeria in afcon qualifiers?

São Tomé and Príncipe
Nigeria will play São Tomé and Príncipe in Group A of the qualifying series for next year’s Africa Cup of Nations finals. This comes after the Confederation of African Football Appeals Board threw out Mauritius from the pool following the successful appeal of the former.

When did Nigeria first win the African Cup of Nations?

Africa Cup of Nations

year winner runner-up
1988 Cameroon Nigeria
1990 Algeria Nigeria
1992 Côte d’Ivoire Ghana
1994 Nigeria Zambia

Who won 2009 u20 World Cup?

2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup

FIFA U-20 World Cup Egypt 2009 كأس العالم للشباب تحت 20 سنة 2009
Venue(s) 7 (in 5 host cities)
Final positions
Champions Ghana (1st title)
Runners-up Brazil

Which African country has won U20 World Cup?

Performance by nation

Rank Team Champions
1 Nigeria 7 (1983, 1985, 1987, 1989, 2005, 2011, 2015)
2 Ghana 4 (1993, 1999*, 2009, 2021)
3 Egypt 4 (1981, 1991*, 2003, 2013)
4 Cameroon 1 (1995)

Is Nigeria not playing Afcon qualifier?

The Appeals Board decision means Nigeria’s away fixture on June 13, 2022, will now be played in Marrakech, Morocco, instead of Mauritius, since São Tomé and Príncipe do not have a CAF approved stadium in their country. Copyright PUNCH.

How many Africa Cup of Nation did Nigeria have?

Since they were the first team to win three AFCON titles, Ghana were given the permanent right to keep the original trophy – Abdelaziz Abdallah Salem Trophy in 1978. Nigeria have tasted AFCON success thrice in 1980, 1994 and 2013.