What are the categories of classified military information?

What are the categories of classified military information?

(CMI). Military information designated by DOD, requiring protection in the interests of national security. The information is limited to the classifications: TOP SECRET, SECRET, and CONFIDENTIAL.

What is one of the primary functions that the National Disclosure policy Committee Ndpc perform?

Functions. The NDPC is responsible for formulating, issuing, administering and monitoring the implementation of the NDP. It may grant exceptions to the NDP under the authority granted by the Secretary of Defense.

What document would be annotated to allow a foreign government to receive CMI when there is a need for extraordinary or supplementary security procedures?

National Security Decision Memorandum (NSDM 119) NSDM 119 provides the basic national policy governing decision-making on the disclosure of classified military information (CMI) to foreign governments and international organizations.

What is a requirement for a transfer of classified information?

K. 1. Classified material transferred internationally requires a continuous chain of receipts that record each individual who has custody, unless this requirement is waived by a foreign government for its RESTRICTED and unclassified “in confidence” information.

What group is responsible for maintaining the policy document national policy and procedures for the disclosure of CMI?

In this capacity, DTSA is responsible for the formulation, issuance, and implementation of the National Disclosure Policy for the disclosure of Classified Military Information to Foreign Governments and International Organizations.

What is the first step in making a determination on whether the security requirement?

The first step is to determine whether an unauthorized disclosure could damage the national security. That step presumably also requires that the specific damage to the national security be identified. The second step is to determine whether it is reasonable to expect such damage.

What are the three basic types of international visits?

DoD policy identifies three types of visits:

  • One-Time Visits. A visit for a single short-term occasion (normally less than 30 days) for a specified purpose.
  • Recurring Visits. Intermittent, recurring visits over a specified period of time, normally up to one year in duration.
  • Extended Visits.
  • Emergency Visits.

What is one of the three security conditions that foreign recipients of U.S. defense articles must agree to?

What is one of the three key security conditions that foreign recipients of U.S. defense articles must agree to? The foreign recipient may not transfer possession of the articles to a third party entity without prior approval by the U.S.

What are the three requirements that must be met in order to access classified information?

(a) A person may have access to classified information provided that:

  • (1) a favorable determination of eligibility for access has been made by an agency head or the agency head’s designee;
  • (2) the person has signed an approved nondisclosure agreement; and.
  • (3) the person has a need-to-know the information.

What is one of the key criteria for sharing classified military information?

The basic criteria for foreign disclosure includes: national interest, purpose, government to government, protection, access, third party and compromise. Foreign access to information must be provided in the best interests of the United States and meet foreign policy or a military objective.

How many categories of information are eligible for classification?

eight categories
Executive Order 13526 identifies eight categories of information that are eligible for classification.

How many categories of CMI are there?

4.1. Classified Military Information (CMI). Military information designated by Department of Defense (DoD), requiring protection in the interest of national security. The information is limited to three classifications: TOP SECRET, SECRET, and CONFIDENTIAL.

What is one of the key criteria for sharing classified military information CMI with foreign entities?

It is U.S. national and DoD policy that CMI is a national security asset that must be protected and shared with foreign governments only when there is a clearly defined benefit to the United States, when authorized by officials designated under the Directive and then only when all requirements of the Directive are met.

What are the names of the policies that provide guidance for the DoD information security program?

DoD Policy Guidance for the DoD Information Security Program The ISOO issued the Classified National Security Directive 32 CFR, Parts 2001 and 2003, Final Rule which implements E.O. 13526 and further defines what the Executive Branch agencies must do to comply with E.O. requirements.

Which position reviews and validates requirements for the acquisition of services in accordance with DoD component procedures?

The Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller)/Chief Financial Officer, Department of Defense, reviews costs incurred for services acquisition and makes programming recommendations as appropriate and is jointly responsible with the Director, Cost Assessment and Program Evaluation, for the data analysis and reporting …

What is one of the three types of foreign liaison officer programs?

The first is the Foreign Liaison Officer (FLO) Program, which documents the policy and procedures governing visits and assignments of FLOs. The second is the Defense Personnel Exchange Program (DPEP), which documents the policy and procedures for the assignment of exchange officers under the DPEP.

What is the difference between state visit and official visit?

State visits can only occur on the invitation of the president of the United States, acting in his capacity as head of the United States. Official visits, in contrast, are usually visits by the chief of government of a foreign state.

What is the reference ndp-1?

NDP-1 (reference s) is the interagency document which implements this policy. It is issued by the Secretary of Defense with the concurrence of the Secretaries of State and Energy and the Director of Central Intelligence (DCI).

What is Annex A of ndp-1?

Annex A of NDP-1, lists the countries covered by such agreements. (The list is classified and is releasable to Government Agencies only. Contractors can verify the existence of these agreements with their Defense Investigative Service (DIS) Cognizant Security Office (CSO)).

How do I request an exception to the NDP?

A request for an exception to the NDP must include the information required in Appendix B. The request must represent a fully coordinated position of the requesting Department or Agency. The NDPC Executive Secretary ensures that all members having an interest in the request for exception to policy receive a copy.

What are the limitations of proposed disclosure in ndp-1?

The proposed disclosure may be inconsistent with one or more of the policy statements in Annexes B and C in NDP-1. c. The classification assigned to the information to be disclosed may exceed the delegated disclosure authority level in NDP-1. d.